Tags

, , , ,

I’ve been feeling a little sad that I haven’t had a chance to cruise through all my webspaces too much of late–no vists to Twitter, a very little bit of Facebook checking (but not much)… and no blog updates. This last, I’ve been particularly sad about, as I’ve been all proud of my “usually once a week or more frequent” posting pattern, which has lasted since last August or so.

I managed to sustain it through the last year of law school and some busy times–but the bar exams have defeated me and I have broken my streak. Though I’ve thought longingly of the blog, I’m sad to say that much of the past few weeks have just been me, ~2000 pages of dense material,* and the looming prospect of two seven-hour exams, two weeks apart. I gotta say, these past weeks haven’t been fun.

Any spare time has been spent with family (this, at least, *has* been fun), so that they actually remember what I look like when I emerge, blinking and bleary-eyed, from the bat-caves of my study environs and examination halls, after the last of the two exams.

Once the bar exams are written and behind me (and hopefully I’ve gotten a “pass” on both–they’re pass/fail so “pass” is actually the desired option, here), I’ll need to get my bearings and will hopefully be able to re-establish my weekly postings and re-connect with friends, in my real and virtual spaces… Something to look forward to at the end of the slog!

Until then, I’ll be retreating once more into radio silence, as I return to the struggle to keep my eyes from glazing over, while I try to get through this stuff! Wish me luck.

*And when I say dense, I’m not kidding–there’s not a lot of what you’d call “filler” in these suckers, alas. They are also extraordinary in their procedural, detail-oriented dullness, for the most part. None of those glamorous law-school readings of court cases that reference Sherlock Holmes and Byzantine traditions. Just 2000 pages of zingers like:

Rule 4 describes the formatting details and required content for court documents. Court documents consist of a heading (r. 4.02(1)), a body (r. 4.02(2)), and a backsheet (r. 4.02(3) and Form 4C). Except for certificates of appointment, a backsheet is not required for documents in non-contentious estate matters under R. 74 (Practice Direction, Ontario Court (General Division), New Rules for Estate Proceedings, November 16, 1994).

Are you getting excited yet? Oh, and just for the record, now would not be the best time to tell me that this is likely the kind of prose I’ll be reading during the long and illustrious years of legal practice that lie before me. I know this, but I’m trying to avoid thinking about it now, except to wonder, plaintively, if at some point it magically becomes more interesting.

